Tutorial

Using Sonos as PC Speakers

Using Sonos as PC Speakers

Show first post

109 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @Gutemberg Ribeiro 

Using an optical connection, you should be able to receive Dolby Digital 5.1 (not DD+) or DTS 5.1, assuming your Apple TV is willing to output those formats - I assume you’ll need to specify the output format manually.

I have no experience playing games on Apple devices, but if it’s anything like playing on a PC, compressed format surround options like those I mention above may not be available. Movies/TV shows shouldn’t be a problem.

I hope this helps.

Thanks for the reply @Corry P 

Sorry but my question is around a Mac Studio (a Mac computer just like a Mac mini or a Macbook) and not an Apple TV. The reason I asked is because for the Mac to be able to send DTS/DD it needs to detect the multichannel support on the optical device connected to it on MacOS Audio MIDI and not stereo like this.

I'm trying to make sure the converter used by Sonos report the correct number of speakers (5.1) to MacOS so it can output DD/DTS before I put this new order.

Can you confirm with your team this info please?

Otherwise it won't work with 5.1and will send only stereo. I think the same applies to regular Windows PCs.

So again, in order for this to work properly Sonos adapter must be able to report 5.1, not 2.0 as in both Windows and MacOS screenshots above.

Can you confirm that info please?

Thanks!

Userlevel 4
Badge +4

This is not how optical works. There is no communication between the source and sink, the Sonos device cannot communicate with your Mac. This is a feature only used by HDMI. The Mac might detect it by checking if an optical cable is connected or there might be some advanced settings somewhere. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @Gutemberg Ribeiro 

Apologies for mixing up Apple TV and Mac Studio (typing “Apple TV” is just habit at this point), but it doesn’t really change my earlier answer.