SMB2 (or SMB3) support must be supported NOW!

Show first post

281 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +23

If NAS users want a solution, they just need to get the http server running on those NASs, which would take a few hours of work. However there has been zero interest expressed in this work to date.

Are you saying that that I could get this to work over HTTP with a few hours of work?  Care to share?

Sure, PM me and I’ll give you the details. Requirement: A NAS platform that can run .NET Core and knowledge of C#.

Userlevel 2
Badge +1

A file share running SMB1 is extremely vulnerable to all the variants of cryptolocker virus that exists today. 

I was under the impression that this was for old unpatched versions of Windows... 

Are you saying that my Samba server runing under Linux is vulnerable to this family of exploits when allowing SMB1? 

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

I’m not an expert on that but I think running SMB v1 on anything does have security issues. Too lazy to dig into the details as they likely vary by Linux distribution.

Avoiding the issue, I went with a dedicated SMB v1 NAS based on a Raspberry PI here and set up a friend with a NFS to SMB v1 gateway on a Pi Zero W.

This has been an open issue for so long expecting a change isn’t realistic. Not saying it won’t come, but don’t hold your breath. Instead pick a safe work-around and move on.

The .Net Core option sounds interesting but my problem is solved.

Badge

I am so puzzled at the lack of support for NAS users. 
Am I the only one with old, weird music that is impossible to find elsewhere?
And if Sonos does not want to support NAS, could they not support OneDrive instead? 

Oh well, since I do not know what I am doing it took me forever to figure out the SMB1 solution.
But now it is done. Until the next hiccup.

Bose, here I come!

Curious as to whether you’ve read the thread before posting to it?

Badge +9