Skip to main content
Question

Playing HiRes

Hello,

I am very new to all this. I have a Sonos Arc, Era 300, and Sub. I have installed the Sonos app. 

My music streaming services are the following: Qobuz and Tidal.

I mostly use Qobuz. I only listen to HiRes albums. Nonetheless, my ignorance comes to the topic of how to play HiRes music with my Sonos system.

Thus, how to play HiRes with the Sonos? Do I just use Airplay when I am on the Qobuz or Tidal app, or alternatively select the Sonos system directly (which is called ‘Stuen’ in my case, please check the attached image)?

Or to play HiRes with the Sonos system, do I have to use the Sonos app and play directly from there? I am not sure which option makes sure that the system plays HiRes.  

28 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +15

You need to add Qobuz as a music service to your Sonos app, and play music via the Sonos app, to play high res streams.

Tidal is not (to my knowledge) supported for high res playback on Sonos.

You need to add Qobuz as a music service to your Sonos app, and play music via the Sonos app, to play high res streams.

Tidal is not (to my knowledge) supported for high res playback on Sonos.

Dear Rhonny,

Thank you for getting back to me. 
Excuse my lack of knowledge, but does it not depend on the setup of my devices? For example, my two Era 300s (left and right) are connected to my system via Bluetooth. Would these speakers yield HiRes music when connected to the system via Bluetooth, even though I use Qobuz and the Sonos app?

Thank you very much beforehand. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +13

The best you can get is 24/48

on Qobuz and you need to set the quality on Qobuz website in your account settings 

if you use Bluetooth you won’t get hires music 

The best you can get is 24/48

on Qobuz and you need to set the quality on Qobuz website in your account settings 

if you use Bluetooth you won’t get hires music 

Thanks. This is a useful answer. 24/48 is fine for me.