If you're experiencing audio delay issues, read this

Show first post

434 replies

All devices would connect to the switch, instead of the TV. There would then be a single HDMI cable from the switch to the TV for the video, and an optical cable from the switch to the Beam to carry the sound. That way, your TV can't delay the audio signal.
And just to confirm - by adding a switch like that, you wouldn’t lose the ARC functionality of controlling the sound via the LG remote for example?

In my setup, I only have an Apple TV 4K connected to my C7 - I can fix the issue by forcing DD through the Apple TV and connect the beam through the optical but then I lose the ARC functionality, just adjusting the sound with one remote in my case though so not too big of an issue as I don’t use Alexa with the beam for example. But if a switch fixes the lip sync through optical while keeping the HDMI ARC benefits, I’d go for the solution.

Thanks in advance!

I’m not an expert here so appreciate the advice on the device I’d need as well. Based on earlier posts, I’ve been look on amazon for a switch and wondering if this would do the trick:
https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07F6YPVZJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_tUQZCbW9PAZFN

That's correct. Once putting my TV's sound to 'HDMI external sound' I was able to control just the Playbar using my TV's remote without any further feedback from my TV, which is actually an upside from before. I can't guarantee that it works the same way with a Beam, as my setup only has a Playbar instead, but using the switch I get 5.1 sound from anything plugged into the switch ánd the TV's apps.

My setup is like this:
PS4Pro > HDMI > Switch
Switch > HDMI > TV
Switch > Optical > Playbar

I also noticed about the switch you linked it only supports 4k@30fps, so if you are worried about 4k gaming or HFR movies I'd go for a different one.