Home theatre: Arc vs Amp

• 18 February 2024
  • 6 replies

Planning a Sonos home theatre set-up (not music) and I’m considering two different solutions:

4.1 Surround

• Sonos amp with Elac dbr62 stereo speakers (which I already own and use for music)
  • Sonos Sub Mini
  • Sonos One/Play:1 as rears

7.1.4 Spatial audio

• Sonos Arc
  • Sonos Sub Mini
  • Sonos Era 100 as rears

I’m looking to compare performance not cost as I can get both set-ups at similar prices. Specifically I’m interested about these tradeoffs:

• Centre channel: virtual vs real 
  • Soundstage: narrow with smaller drivers vs wide with larger ones 

Obviously I’d rather have spatial audio capabilities but I wouldn’t compromise sound quality from the front channels for it.

Can’t test both set-ups before committing so I’d like to hear if someone has experience with both set-ups or similar ones.

Thanks!

6 replies

I’ve no experience with both setups, but thought you might ‘perhaps’ find this a useful read about Sonos Soundbars and the available surrounds, Subs etc…

https://www.sonos.com/en-us/blog/the-ultimate-guide-to-a-sonos-home-theater

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

I got the Arc because I was worried about the virtual center from the Amp. Turns out the Arc center volume isn’t independently adjustable and far too often center dialog is lost under the other channels sound.

Doing it again I’d have gone with the Amp and kept my very nice passive speakers.

How big is your room, open plan or enclosed? You might want to consider a full Sub.

Userlevel 2
Badge +4