Answered

Help - Combined CD / Turntable and surround set-up

• 21 February 2019
  • 8 replies

Hi,

I’m new to Sonos and I’m looking to replace my existing TV/surround and Music systems that currently sit at opposite ends of a long lounge. I have found a few threads that give partial answers to my questions so apologies for any repetition here!

I want to be able to keep my CD and Turntable set up but reduce the footprint (and wires!) that accompany my existing kit (see below for list of all components). My overall questions is this: Would a Sonos amp, beam, sub and a pair of ones effectively solve my problem?

I have a couple of decent Q-Acoustic book shelf speakers. Am I right in thinking the set up above IN ADDITION to these speakers would provide surround sound ? E.g. Would the beam provide the centre channel audio and the Q-Acoustics the front left and right channels? If not could the bookshelf speakers be used for music playback only and the beam for surround (providing all three front channels)?

I notice the Sonos amp has just one analogue input. This would be fine for the turntable but how would the CD be connected? My TV has HDMI ARC so could the CD essentially play through the TV, and if so would the TV need to be turned on?

As an aside, I’m considering getting a universal disc player (possibly the Cambridge Audio CXUHD) to replace my current CD and Blu-ray Player so would this allow me to play CDs via the HDMI Arc input on the amp?

Last question: I’ve got a Wharfdale Sub connected as part of my existing surround set up. Would this need replacing with a Sonos sub to function as part of the surround set up?

If there’s a simpler solution to what I’m suggesting above please feel free to let me know!

Thanks in advance,

Mister Fridge

Current Components

Music:
Naim Mu-So
Cambridge Audio CD player
Braun Turntable with Pre-Amp

TV/Surround
LG 4K TV
Denon AVR 1910 Surround Amp
Sony Blu-ray Player