Sonos CONNECT unit(s) keep pausing - incredibly annoying

Badge +1

OK, I had been running two Sonos connect units for a few years. Both were set up as wired units as I do not wish to rely on wifi).

Long story short either unit will play STREAMING music just fine, but with files from my .flac library this pausing occurs, and appears to be totally random.

There was a time when if I started a playlist / album both units would play just fine. However it seems that once you try to control the sonos app via an android phone, that’s when the trouble starts. I’ve got a galaxy S20 and my girlfriend a galaxy 5. We’ve tried running the S1 app via each phone, logged in and not - it makes zero difference.

I spent 90 minutes in chat w sonos (they passed me off to three different “associates” in a row, and each time the new associate would ask for “some time to review the case”...I had to repeat things over and over...so frustrating) and in the end nothing was resolved. Even their advice seemed suspect (mostly focusing on wifi despite me having told them that I do not use the units with wifi).

Today I spent pretty much the entire day going through my network and making sure that each switch was functioning properly. No luck.

I have tried moving the flac music drive to another host and re-pointing the library to that spot. Same issue.

I have fully reset my gateway, all switches, etc. I have gone though all manner of setting changes and NOTHING is making the issue go away. I can’t count home many times I have rebooted etc.

One thing seem familiar, and that is these issues started to crop up once support ended as well as when a house-guest decided to take it upon himself to try and use spotify (which he got to work) even though it was NOT added to the sonos app as a stream (I have Amazon, tunein, and sonos radio). I had *heard* that this is a hole in the system and I wonder if that event caused the issue in some way.