F.A.Q.

Troubleshooting Sonos on WiFi

Troubleshooting Sonos on WiFi

Show first post

114 replies

I have no experience with the Linksys mesh. Some mesh systems will run the nodes as separate subnets.  This will thoroughly fluster SONOS because all of the players and controllers must be on the same subnet. This is why moving the phone controller to a different node will break its connection with SONOS.

Thanks for the reply buzz, but the nodes are all on the same subnet. 

My brand new Amp joins the Wifi fine, I can see it on the admin interface of the Access Point 
, both my Android app and the IOS app however cannot find the device after intial setup wizard is done. 
This is a brand new system, using the Sonos App .   I have reset it to factory defaults at least 5 times , I can find the device to “change network settings” but  that is it.

My brand new Amp joins the Wifi fine, I can see it on the admin interface of the Access Point 
, both my Android app and the IOS app however cannot find the device after intial setup wizard is done. 
This is a brand new system, using the Sonos App .   I have reset it to factory defaults at least 5 times , I can find the device to “change network settings” but  that is it.

Note access points/range extenders (not part of a WiFi mesh setup) are not supported by Sonos, as they can mangle MAC addresses of the connected devices, making it difficult to discover devices using SSDP multicasting. See the system requirements here:

https://support.sonos.com/en-us/article/sonos-system-requirements

Try blacklisting the controller device and Sonos products on the extender so that they use the main router WiFi AP instead and see if that fixes your issue.

Thank you, there is no range extender in the picture here , if I gave that impression sorry.

My previous S1 amp and connect were working fine prior, with the S1 app.   I am using the new S2 80.xx app now, and new Amp.