Answered

Feature request : play local Atmos files

Hi there,  I'm a music professional (sound engineer) with a 7.1.4 Atmos studio in France. I own 2 Arc 300. Those are fantastic speakers for Atmos playback and are paving the way towards Atmos adoption by the general public. Awesome job Sonos ! 

But I need to be able to play local Atmos files (.mp4 with DD+ JOC endoding) for quality control before sending to online services. I need also my clients to be able to do that so they can approve the mixes outside the realm of my studio and their headphones. 

The only way right now appears to be through an apple TV to an HDMI equipped Sonos Beam 2 / Arc with Era 300 as surrounds. This is not ideal, and quite more expensive, and I very much enjoy front facing Era 300 (as surrounds, the front drivers are deactived by design). 

Sonos Era 300 are already streaming DD+ JOC  files from Apple and Tidal, it shouldn't be too difficult to do so from a local NAS / phone ? 

Please Sonos 🙏

icon

Best answer by controlav 3 June 2023, 16:03

View original

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hello @dbsquaremedia, welcome to Sonos Community!

Thank you for the kind words and feedback.

I’ve marked this thread as feature request and forwarded it to the appropriate teams for consideration.

Userlevel 7
Badge +23

Can you code? You could create a simple music service that serves up your Atmos files over the local network.

Curious: what file format do you use for Atmos files?

Can you code? You could create a simple music service that serves up your Atmos files over the local network.

Curious: what file format do you use for Atmos files?

Interesting idea… I can't really code but these days I guess I could ask Chat GPT to do it for me… But I can't really see how to add this service to the Sonos app neither how this could work…