Beam gen2 is cutting sound to TV not connected to SONOS

• 31 January 2023
  • 8 replies

Badge

Hi everyone!  I am new to SONOS and am having a problem after successfully (easily) connecting our new Beam gen2 to our playroom TV.  We are DISH Network subscribers and the playroom TV is connected to a DISH Joey receiver with an HDMI cable and the Joey receiver is connected to the satellite antenna via a RG6 cable.  To allow reception of the DISH signal on a small Kitchen TV, the DISH installer connected what appears to be a signal amplifier to the Joey receiver with RG6 coaxial and from that device a RG6 coaxial cable connects to a 4-way splitter and a RG6 cable connects to the kitchen TV.  I am describing our playroom/kitchen satellite TV installation to provide information which may help solve our Beam problem and to also state that our setup was installed and approved by DISH network.

With that out of the way, here is our problem:  after installing the SONOS Beam, we no longer have sound on the kitchen TV.  Although the kitchen TV can only receive the same channel as the playroom TV is tuned to, sound volume on the kitchen TV is controlled independently of the playroom TV.  The kitchen TV is not connected to our network by any means, wired or Wi-Fi. I do not understand how the Beam soundbar can control the sound on a television which is not connected to it.  Can anyone please provide a solution?  

Thank you.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

Honestly, I think you’ve provided too much information, and I’m getting lost in it all.

You have two TVs? Are they the same?

You have one Beam, and it’s connected to one TV (kitchen) via the ARC connection on the TV?