Question

Using Playbar for Home Cinema

I got a screen projector and was hoping to use it to watch movies and leverage my Playbar (I have the whole system, Sonos 5.1 Home Theater System PLAYBAR, SUB, PLAY:1 Wireless Rears Combination) . I usually run my movies from my Mac. I cannot figure out for the life of me how I can use playbar as my Laptop sounds and it is getting very frustrating.

Ideally, I would like to transfer the Audio out wirelessly but reading on the forum it seems even if I hacked my Mac to do so, there will be a delay of 4-5 seconds which is not feasible when watching movies. The other option (which I don't like) is to use the cable directly but that also doesn't seem to work. I have bough a 3.5MM > Optical cable and I am still not getting any sound from the playbar. I tried this converter (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B011O0N0UQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) but didn't work.

Any thoughts? I am still very new to Sonos

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

11 replies

That's a whole can of worms to unpack.

Does your projector have an optical out jack on it? If you're pushing video through the Mac, I'd suggest connecting the Mac to the projector with HDMI, and the optical cable between the projector and the Playbar. You'd need to go into the settings of the Mac to ensure that the signal being sent to the projector across HDMI was either Stereo, or Dolby Digital, not anything like DTS or Dolby Digital Plus. If the Playbar receives a signal it can't read, i.e. anything other than stereo and DD, it won't make a sound, which is what it sounds like you've got.