Answered

Sonos Playbar and Yamaha RX-V6A Reciever

• 14 March 2021
  • 1 reply

First off, I am a novice when it comes to AV systems, etc. I just moved into a new house with a large wall mounted Samsung TV and a Sonos Playbar.  There are 2 wired speakers (currently not in use) in the ceiling in the back end of our TV viewing area.  There are also have 2 wired speakers outside.  I recently purchased a Yamaha RX-V6A Reciever, thinking I could run ALL of my speakers through it. I thought I could run the TV, Sonos Playbar and rear ceiling speakers on one Zone of the receiver, and my outdoor speakers on the other zone. I have recently been told that the Sonos Playbar will not work with this set up.  Is this true, and if so, is there a work around to make it all work?

icon

Best answer by Corry P 15 March 2021, 13:46

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

1 reply

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

HI @ofwaih 

Welcome to the Sonos Community!

In short, no - not with the Yamaha. The Sonos Playbar effectively works as a receiver itself - it cannot be used as a speaker for another receiver, and it will not work in conjunction with non-Sonos devices (apart from your TV).

What will work is a Sonos Amp - it can connect to your in-ceiling speakers (assuming they’re 4-8 Ohms) and wirelessly connect to the Playbar directly (though it must be in range to do so - ethernet connections on both are required otherwise) to operate as Surround speakers.