Answered

Need some advice on setup (dealing with ARC/eARC and multiple inputs)

• 28 August 2023
  • 21 replies

Badge

Hi guys I'm looking for some input on how to correctly set up my media setup (unfortunately I'm a bit of a noob in this area).

So the situation I have is as following I have a range of media devices (ps4, Nvidea shied, Calbe box, ...) and 2 output devices A Samsung 4K earc enabled tv and a formovie theatre 4k earc enabled short throw. The audio is connected to a sonos system (earc).

Everything works fine if I connect a single input to a single output and the earc out of either the tv or the ultra short throw to the earc sonos.
My goal is to buy some devices that enable me to switch easily between those devices and stream to the desired output device (they never play at the same time). (the switch boxes are displayed on the schema in orange - yet to be bought).

I would obviously prefer a single remote/device to orchestrate this : aka select desired input and output with it's respective earc to the sonos. Does such a device exist or any tips on how to set this up?
Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

icon

Best answer by Anubis012 1 September 2023, 16:07

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

21 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @Anubis012 

Welcome to the Sonos Community!

If you want multiple input devices to be able to connect to multiple display devices, then the device you are looking for is called an HDMI Matrix.

I think most such devices just split the audio off to an optical connection (which will not support Atmos of any kind), but I did find at least one that would supply eARC from one output device back to a soundbar. I cannot give you a link as that would be construed as a recommendation, which I just can’t do.