Cannot control volume of my Beam when listening to Google News (via Google Assistant)

Hello guys,

I am quite new to the Sonos world but so far I have been nothing but satisfied. However, today I experienced something that I cannot seem to fix. When I command the Google Assistant to play the latest news, Beam’s volume goes down no matter how loud it was before. Plus I cannot increase the volume either from the app of physically via Beam. The volume is stuck at low for the news! That is if I increase the volume manually the volume bar moves in the app, and the sound is very loud if I change to music, but the news in that moment do not react. 

I have done a Factory reset but it did not help. Plus, this problem did not occur earlier, as we were able to control the volume for news normally. 

Any suggestion what it may be? Could it be some Google Home or Assistant settings? 

Very thankful for any help!

Tnx in advance

Regards 

Dule

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

18 replies

Badge

Having the exact same issue with my new Beam right now. Listening to my Google Assistant news briefing, and some recordings are incredibly quiet while some are super loud (it's not like this on my Google Home Hub). The Beam's volume buttons are reacting to my touch but doing nothing until the news is over, then it plays music/whatever at normal volume. Also tried this on my Sonos One, same issue.

Having the exact same issue with my new Beam right now. Listening to my Google Assistant news briefing, and some recordings are incredibly quiet while some are super loud (it's not like this on my Google Home Hub). The Beam's volume buttons are reacting to my touch but doing nothing until the news is over, then it plays music/whatever at normal volume. Also tried this on my Sonos One, same issue.