Answered

Bring back the ability to search music library

Userlevel 5
Badge

I have been using Sonos for several years, and it is attached to a streaming service and my music library on a USB drive, which has years worth of accumulated music, including a lot not available on streaming. I have just (8 May) updated to the new Sonos app. Now I can still see and trawl through my music library, but cannot search in it. The general search function just returns the streaming and Sonos radio results, and there’s no dedicated search for the music library. This effectively cuts off my access to my own music, by making it prohibitively difficult to find anything. Please bring this functionality back. I know you want to prioritise revenue generation, but this is disrespectful to your customers.

icon

Best answer by BazDistro 12 May 2024, 20:32

View original

66 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +3

I agree that the new app is completely disrespectful to many customers.  It has turned me from a Sonos lover to a Sonos hater.  That is the definition of a bad app upgrade.

Userlevel 3

I second that motion - Sonos, please bring back the search functionality for local music libraries!

I have c.19,000 tracks across 1400 albums in my local library on a Synology NAS; without a search function, it’s simply not possible to use the new app to select the music I want to listen to, thus rendering a 7-room Sonos system almost completely redundant.

I would love to know whether the removal of the local search was a bug, an oversight or intended functionality? If the latter, what was the reasoning behind it? Its a decision that will put off a lot of long-term customers and early adopters like myself.

Userlevel 3