Skip to main content

Before I start, I like Sonos a lot - I’ve been using it for more than 15 years and have (too) many speakers, but I’m frustrated with the Controller. 

Given that Sonos is premium brand and has a price point to match, who thinks the Controller is inadequate and unintuitive, to the point of being, quite frankly, pants, and needs an overhaul? 

A few examples:

• Clunky - no buttons - akin to ‘favorites’ or ‘presets’ (on-screen short cut buttons like today’s cell/mobile phones or Hi-fi systems) - to have to search each time you want to play something is time consuming, and ridiculous 
  • No customisation allowed, for example, your own colour scheme/skin, etc. 
  • No customisable sleep timer - one of the oldest complaints and one of the simplest things to have in an app! 
  • Not to forget and bit too ‘buggy’ - e.g. random volume/mute loss of functionality when speakers are part of a group
  • Ads!?

I’ll stop there but please share your thoughts, and the pain, on the Sonos Controller/Interface/GUI

Sonos CEO Patrick Spence is from a hardware background, maybe he should spend a little more time with arguably the most important part of the car, the tyres (so to speak). 

Please @Sonos, listen to your fans! 

Hi.  I won’t argue with your particular quibbles, and I am sure the mobile app could be improved, but fundamentally I find it reasonably intuitive and easy to use.

I particularly like the navigation bar at the bottom of the screen.  For day-to-day use, all you need to do is choose a room (or group some rooms), and then choose some music to play in them.  One button on the nav bar takes care of the rooms, and three take care of the three ways to choose music - go to a source (browse), search across sources, or select a favourite.  There’s a button for each of those options

Finally, there is a button for system management and settings.