Question

Sonos media player for pc?

• 2 September 2016
  • 8 replies

Hi there. I'm new to sonos and bought my first speaker this past week. It's truly fantastic and I will be buying more in the not so distant future.

I realize that this seems to be a very touchy issue (by my quick search of the support and community threads), but I couldn't find an answer to my particular question: Does anyone know if Sonos might be planning on developing a media player for pc? To be clear, I understand that the sonos app for pc is a remote control, not a media player. I am not looking for a "free" or "cheap" option. I am wondering if Sonos might be developing a media player that I could purchase and download.

I'm also aware of the "connect and line-in" option, but if I can avoid an extra piece of hardware by purchasing some software I will do it. Real estate around my HTPC is at a real premium.

Thanks in advance!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

It seems very very unlikely and Sonos will never comment on plans so I'm afraid you won't get an answer. What exactly would you want this piece of software to do that you can't do now?
Thanks for the quick reply John.

I'm looking for a "one stop" solution to playing music around the house. I could just keep using iTunes/groove/media player on my pc, but I really do like the sonos interface, so being able to use it to play music on my pc would be a big bonus.

As I said in my original post, I'm not looking for a freebie. I'm looking for a good, robust piece of software that I can purchase and download (think Sonos Pro?) for my pc.
But isn't Sonos that "one-stop solution" already? You can play the music that is stored in iTunes on your PC - you just need a Sonos speaker sitting on the desk!