Answered

Remove Speaker from Connect

• 2 July 2017
  • 9 replies

Badge
Newbie here.
My parents have Sonos system. Someone very smart set up a couple of speaker zones. (1) bedrooms, (2) patio (3) kitchen. Each of those selections will play between 1 and 5 speakers. I can "group" those selections and play in one, two or three "zones" simultaneously. I am unable to play to only one bedroom.

I believe the system was set up with "connect".

I'd like to remove the master bedroom speaker from the other bedroom speakers so I can play on that one ONLY.

Any suggestions?
Thank you in Advance! Bruce

If you need clarification on any of my terms, please ask. As I said... I'm a newbie and don't have the lingo.
icon

Best answer by ratty 2 July 2017, 08:42

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

9 replies

An indirect answer: Each Sonos unit, and Connect is one of different kinds in the product range, can be set up to make just one room or zone - the latter term because one physical room can have more than one zone in it.

Zones can be grouped together in any combination of any two zones, all the way up to all of them. And they can just as easily be ungrouped by unchecking the relevant dialog boxes in the Sonos Controller. Are you able to find your way to the grouping options in the Sonos Controller app?
Badge
I can group zones in the sonos controller, I cannot figure out how to pull one of the speakers out of the zone associated with the bedrooms (I believe all the speakers in the bedrooms are associated to a single zone via a connect)
It seems then that the Connect is wire connected to an amplifier or amplifiers that in turn are wire connected to all the speakers across all the bedrooms. In this case, pulling out wires physically is the only answer.