Answered

Sonos Port to DSP to Amplifiers

• 21 May 2023
  • 3 replies

I am setting up a multi-room audio system and I want to stream music via SONOS as I have additional equipment that use this ecosystem. I considered adding a DSP to distribute the audio signal to 3 amps. I am new to audio systems so I would like to know if my way of thinking is correct.

1) Does using an XLR Y cable affect the quality of audio signal sent to the Amps?

2) I am thinking of using either the Dayton Audio DSP-408 or the t.racks DSP408. I like that Dayton offers mobile app control but I want to buy the one with the best audio processing capabilities. Is there any advantages on the t.racks over the Dayton?

3) Ultimately will the inclusion of the DSP improve Sonos audio (DAC) or will all these conversions affect quality? Could I possibly have better results if I avoid the DSP and use a crossover or splitter to go straight to the amps, and use the amp limiters for the subwoofer channels set the frequency range?

Any input will help! Thank you!

icon

Best answer by Corry P 23 May 2023, 10:13

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

3 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @Mavak72 

Welcome to the Sonos Community!

To be a little blunt, I can’t see a reason why you’d want to do any of this. Sonos devices are completely capable of distributing audio amongst each other - multiroom is what we do. I also don’t see the point in the Ports - each Sonos Amp has Line-In, and can play Line-In from each other Amp too. All you need is a functional network.

So, I can’t answer your 3 questions because I don’t understand why the “DSP” would be needed in the first place.