Question

Sonos compatible with Xbox series X

• 10 November 2020
  • 7 replies

Badge +3

Hi guys I’ve just brought the Xbox series x today not realising it doesn’t have an optical to connect to my playbar , I’ve the playbar , sub and two play ones in my lounge , I’m absolutely gutted I can’t go through my Sonos , tv speakers very very poor lol does anyone know of any adaptors that would work ? I’m a total novice when it comes to technical terms so please explain and direct me , cheers guys , stay safe 

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

7 replies

I assume your TV does not have an optical output?  The other option is to get a HDMI/optical switch like this…

https://www.amazon.com/Tendak-Optical-Extractor-Converter-Splitter/dp/B017B6WFP8/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?crid=3MTCOMQG11IZX&dchild=1&keywords=hdmi+optical+splitter+120hz&qid=1605041462&sprefix=hdmi+optical+splitter+120%2Caps%2C176&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUFaVE5ESEVTTVkxSVgmZW5jcnlwdGVkSWQ9QTA2NDM0ODUzVlZEVDNNUUlJVjhTJmVuY3J5cHRlZEFkSWQ9QTA0MDEwMDQxWVNBVTlaWlM2STFHJndpZGdldE5hbWU9c3BfYXRmJmFjdGlvbj1jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

Badge +3

Hi Mel thanks for messaging , yeah my tv does have optical , I have 3 optical cables in total , one for

tv , one for Xbox and one for PS4 and what ever I’m watching or playing I would have to plug that optical into the back off the sound bar to hear sound , if that makes sense . That way all my devices go through the Sonos , however now that the Xbox series x doesn’t have that optical I’m stuck for the sound , cheers 

Hi Mel thanks for messaging , yeah my tv does have optical , I have 3 optical cables in total , one for