Answered

Unable to play music using Alexa on Era 100

Badge

Hello—we just replaced an echo device with an Era 100. We added our apple music account via the sonos app and are able to ask for music using ‘hey sonos’, but are unable to ask Alexa for music. As far as I can tell tell the apple music and Pandora skills are (still) enabled in the alexa app, however anytime my family tries to ask Alexa to play something, the speaker tells us that the skill needs to be enabled in the alexa app. We were previously able to do this on the echo… Is there something I’m doing wrong here? We could adjust to saying ‘Hey Sonos’, but everyone is used to shouting to ‘Alexa’ and frankly I don’t want to use separate voice assistants for timers, etc. and a different one for music.

icon

Best answer by UKMedia 2 April 2024, 18:11

View original

13 replies

Not that I’m an expert in this area, but saying ‘hey, Sonos’ is supposed to invoke the Sonos Voice assistant, not the Alexa (Amazon) voice assistant. If you say ‘Alexa’ as you would normally with an Echo device, and you have Alexa installed in your Sonos properly, it should just work. 

‘Hey, Sonos’ would work if you had SVC installed. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +20

Can you confirm that you can ask your Era 100 “Alexa, what is the time?” and she answers correctly?

Userlevel 7
Badge +16

@Colin_17 

After adding Apple Music skill in Alexa app please let Alexa do a new search for speakers. Also set AM as standard music service for Alexa in Alexa app. Otherwise you always would have to add „on Apple Music“ at the end of each command. 

Badge

Can you confirm that you can ask your Era 100 “Alexa, what is the time?” and she answers correctly?

Confirmed.

Badge

Not that I’m an expert in this area, but saying ‘hey, Sonos’ is supposed to invoke the Sonos Voice assistant, not the Alexa (Amazon) voice assistant. If you say ‘Alexa’ as you would normally with an Echo device, and you have Alexa installed in your Sonos properly, it should just work.