Question

So, any news on this ducking nonsense?

• 29 December 2017
  • 11 replies

Userlevel 2
The first response about the stupid ducking is that it was amazons fault and the room groups would fix it. Now they added room groups and it’s still a stupid problem.

Come on Sonos! I have been working with your products for 12 years and you have been the greatest company to work with but I feel like on this issue (and the new app being crap) you are hiding in bed.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

11 replies

1) Amazon added groups in August 2017, far ahead of the Sonos Alexa release.

2) Goups on Alexa were only implemented for Echo devices, not 3rd party speakers. There is talk that the new AVS Multi-Room Music SDK will address this, but that is not expected until 2018, and it is not known if Sonos can or will use this SDK. So yes, it is still a "stupid" problem, but it is Amazon's "stupid" problem, at least for the moment.

See this link for details:

https://developer.amazon.com/blogs/alexa/post/7c9343ce-425b-4baa-ae63-49c36afb5341/giving-device-makers-more-ways-to-bring-voice-forward-music-experiences-to-their-products
Badge +1
No need for the quotes. Whoever’s fault it is, if anyone, it is most assuredly a stupid feature. Sonos / Alexa integration only works properly if you have only one Sonos zone. Asking Alexa about the weather in one room of the house, shouldn’t kill the music in every other room. For this reason alone, I have cut the link between the two systems and will not even consider restoring it until this is resolved. Edit: to be clear, there’s no snippiness in my opening remark. It’s a (rare) genuine instance of “just sayin’”!
Userlevel 7
Badge +22
No need for facts jgatie what were you thinking ... that's not the proper narrative!