Bluetooth to Alexa Echo dot and then Alexa to Sonos

• 24 January 2019
  • 6 replies

Hi, I'm new to Sonos and to this community. I searched to see if this has been asked but didn't find anything. So since Sonos has no bluetooth abilities but my Echo dot does and I can stream music to Echo dot over bluetooth, is there a way to stream this to the Sonos speakers since there is som support for Sonos speakers in the Echo dot as far as I can see?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

The apps of most major music providers can cast to Sonos. AirPlay, Alexa Cast, Spotify Connect, Sonos Direct Control, etc. Not much need for Bluetooth.
Hi, I'm new to Sonos and to this community. I searched to see if this has been asked but didn't find anything. So since Sonos has no bluetooth abilities but my Echo dot does and I can stream music to Echo dot over bluetooth, is there a way to stream this to the Sonos speakers since there is som support for Sonos speakers in the Echo dot as far as I can see?

No, this is not possible. The echo dot cannot stream audio directly to a Sonos speaker. When you give commands to an echo dot, the command is going through the cloud to your Sonos system which will then play the audio on it's on.

You can attach a bluetooth receiver to a Sonos device with line in capabilities.
The apps of most major music providers can cast to Sonos. AirPlay, Alexa Cast, Spotify Connect, Sonos Direct Control, etc. Not much need for Bluetooth. Thank you but I'm with Android phone so Airplay is not an option. I've read that Sonos app can stream only certain services and not the phone sounds as if I want to hear my game sounds better or something like that. Can this be done through some of these apps?