Answered

What kind of output does cd player need to Port?

• 10 January 2022
  • 5 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +2

Sonos and audio noob here. Just starting out with a Beam in the living (tv + music) and a One in the bedroom. My wife wants to keep the cd collection + a player, so I'm looking at Connect-ing the player.

However, our current mini audioset has only headphone output, so now I'm wondering whether that's enough as input for the Connect (with an adapter cable), or whether I should look into getting a new cd player. And if so, what specs for the output connection? Dual tulip connectors?

(Yes, I expect the cd player to have a limited lifespan after I introduce her to the joys of the Sonos controller--I've already ripped the entire cd collection to our music library. But for now, this is the path I'm on.)

PS: Checking the Sonos site, they don't seem to advertise the Connect any longer. It's still for sale elsewhere though. Would that even be compatible with the new Beam/One I have?

icon

Best answer by ratty 10 January 2022, 12:03

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

5 replies

A Port or Connect requires a line-level input, via twin RCA/phono jacks. The sensitivity is configurable through the app, but typically a CD player would put out 2V RMS nominal which corresponds to Sonos’ source level setting 2. If you’re looking for a pre-owned Connect it ought to be a generation 2, to be compatible with S2. These were shipped from late 2015.

As an alternative you could of course consider a Five (or Play:5/gen2) which, as well as offering a Line-In (3.5mm jack), would also be a speaker in its own right. That way, once you’ve convinced SWMBO of the benefits of playing your ripped files, you wouldn’t end up with a possibly surplus Port/Connect.

Userlevel 2
Badge +2