Sonos Port + BeoPlay speakers or go with Symfonisk or One?

• 23 February 2022
  • 6 replies

Badge +1

Hi all, 

I’m relatively new to the Sonos-world, but quite hooked on sound and convenience already. I’m now wondering how to expand my system in my kitchen. I have an old set of BeoPlay S3s that have served me well, and that actually perform quite ok. They have dual class D-amps (one per speaker unit) and I believe that they play louder than e.g. Symfonisk or Sonos One. 

I now wonder whether I should re-use the S3s and get a Sonos Port to connect them to my system - or if I should just replace them with Symfonisk or Sonos One? I did a test against Symfonisk (playing via BT on the S3s), and TBH, the sound seemed more spacious and dynamic on the S3s. Now, the Ones would perform better again, I’m sure - and that would be a more fair comparison. 

So - are there any Port-users in here who have experience with a setup like this? Would sound quality (via phono-to-mini jack) and connectivity be as good as with native Sonos speakers?

Thanks in advance, 
/Bo

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +21

The the BeoPlay speakers have separate Line Inputs?  Also is there a volume control of the speakers?

I doubt this set up will work.  The port is designed to work with a separate amp and speakers so in itself it does not have volume control.  The amp is an option but that works with passive speakers so would not be suitable for your needs.

I have the Symfonisk Gen 1 speakers and they are great for surround speaker use but not as Good as the Ones or One SLs to my ears.  The Sonos WiFi set up will always be better than bluetooth for the same speaker too.

May suggestion is get two One’s try them on the 100 day Sonos trial, and see what you think.  Also don’t forget to Trueplay tune them too.

Badge +1