Skip to main content

Hello,

I am just starting to learn about Sonos. For our new apartment living room we will have a new 55 “ Samsung TV, and I am looking for a sonos speaker set up for watching movies. I would also like to easily connect my iPhone via bluetooth ( I assume) to play music on the speakers.

The Apartment has excellent wifi. There are also 2 ethernet ports on the wall, and there’s a wifi & router in the front hall closet that the 2 living room ports, ( and 2 bedroom ports) are connected to.

What’s the optimal set up for this ?

I am assuming there won’t be a lag if the TV is the source. Our main priority is good sound for watching movies, and TV.

THANKS !

Perhaps see this link…

The Sonos Ultimate Guide to Sonos Home Theatre.. is it  5.1.2, 7.1.2 or 7.1.4 System?

https://www.sonos.com/en-us/blog/the-ultimate-guide-to-a-sonos-home-theater

Beam, sub, surrounds. In this order depending on your budget. For surrounds I wouldn’t go with Era 300 the value isn’t there imo for surrounds - Unless atmos surrounds is at any cost requirement then by all means😀 . would get IKEA lamps or Sonos one instead. 

Buy from a place you can return easily in case you have any issues with the new app and set up. Take a minute Look around here, 2 months after the new app release there’s  still a lot of pissed off customers and the app still sucks. Do you want to join us ? Personally I’m not spending any more money on Sonos hardware until they earn my trust back and fix this disaster. But tbf there’s a chance it’ll work fine for you and you’ll be happy  

Just to maybe tip the balance the other way to @Bumper’s slightly one-sided approach to the new Sonos controller App here - I will add that the new App works fine for me and my own Home setup and there are others here too who have had no issues with it aswell.

I can actually go one step further too. I had occasion to setup and Trueplay tune the following products earlier yesterday with the new Sonos App…