Answered

How does one add other devices to an ARC? And how does one add speakers that work with the ARC?

• 11 February 2023
  • 13 replies

Userlevel 1

.: Hello. I am a Sonos newbie, this is my first post, and I am not very tech-savvy when it comes to sound systems. Recently, a friend guided me through the purchase of an LG 65” 4K tv and a Sonos Arc sound bar. I would like to add a turntable with pre-amp and a DVD/CD player to my sound system, but as best I can tell, one cannot do this with the Arc. I’ve perused the Sonos site to try to get a better understanding of what component(s) I would need to add, and the more I search, the more confused I find myself.

Ultimately what I would like to do is have the outputs from my turntable (old, not wifi-enabled) and my DVD player (wifi-enabled) play through the Arc (if that’s even possible), and/or through wireless speakers, like the One SL. I gathered from my searching that I would also need the Amp. From what I can see looking at the back of the Amp, only one device requiring RCA cables can be attached to it. If this is the case, would I need two Amps, one for the turntable and one for the DVD player? It’s also not clear to me what one does after connecting the Amp to a turntable or other device. I have 5 passive speakers (3 in the front and 2 in the back), but am interested in ditching those and buying two One SL’s with stands for the back of my living room. At the moment those five speakers are laying dormant, not being used.

I would also like the sound from my tv to go through the Arc and the One speakers.

So I have a number of issues, and I apologize for my inability to see through the Sonos documentation to understand how to make all of this work. I would appreciate any advice or guidance that might push me in the right direction to begin this challenging setup, and thank you in advance for your assistance.

icon

Best answer by Airgetlam 14 February 2023, 17:25

View original