Answered

Can I easily move speakers frequently

• 6 September 2017
  • 3 replies

I am new to Sonos but about to buy. I have read a lot but don't know the technology or the Sonos App so would appreciate clarifying the following.

I plan to get a Playbase for TV. I am also thinking 2 Play:1 or 2 Play :3. These would be used either as part of a 5.1 setting, or in kitchen and dining room when we have guests or long dinners. Is it easy to move the speakers from being stereo in surround sound setting to single speakers in different rooms? Or does it require major reconfiguration each time they move? We are liable to end up with them in 1 place and maybe extend the system, but want to start with something that is viable for both configurations and see how that goes.

The reason for Play:3 vs Play:1 is thinking they could be used as individual speakers.

Appreciate any feedback.
Thanks,
Jim
icon

Best answer by jgatie 6 September 2017, 21:05

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

3 replies

Not really that easy. Bonding as surrounds is a semi-permanent connection. It isn't as simple as just moving the speakers, you must un-bond, then re-bond them again to move back and forth. Bonding isn't that difficult, a couple minutes or so, but you would lose any Trueplay tuning each time you un-bond. Redoing Trueplay each time would be a pain, and while it is not necessary for the operation of the speakers, it does optimize their sound for the room.
It also depends on your definition of hard/easy. Things that would have seemed easy a couple of decades ago are seen as hard to do today, seeing the way tech seems to baby all of us.

Some suggestions: