sonos speakers at second location

I have a Sonos  system with speakers and a Roamer and would like to take the Roamer and a speaker to my caravan which is on a permanent site. Is this possible? I’m not very technical

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

14 replies

Just for ease of use, I’d set up the wifi on the caravan to be exactly the same (SSID and password) as your home wifi. If you do this, your speakers won’t have any issue connecting. Only the ones that you have with you will show up on the controller, the ones in the other location won’t. 

Thanks for reply. What’s the SSID?  A shop set up my home system, so not familiar with setting up! 

Its the wifi “account” that you connect to with your various devices. It usually has a name (the SSID) and a password (for most versions, although you can set up public ones with no passwords….not recommended). If you set up, or have set up, the same at both locations, then you can just travel with your Sonos and not have to worry about connecting at either location, it will just happen. Makes life easier for other things, such as your phone and laptop, too, with just one wifi “name” to connect to. 

Thanks for all the info, will give it a try.  The caravan site has its own Wi-Fi address, but will take a speaker and Roamer and see what I can do.

Userlevel 7

How do you access the internet at the caravan? Is access provided by the site or do you have your own router in the caravan?

Access is provided by the site and it wasn’t too good last summer. However, over the winter they have had new internet cabling (?) laid and have also put routers (I think) in each caravan so the signal should be good now