Full stereo option when watching TV audio ... please?

Show first post
This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

131 replies

Userlevel 5
Badge +2
I am an installer and would also like to have a multi-channel stereo option.  
Jgatie's response might be a bit harsh but essentially he is right on the money. +1

"Multi Channel Stereo" requires a sound processor which the Playbar provides (assuming the recording was mixed for n.1 audio). 

Stereo only has 2 channels. If one is set to extend the sound they can group more speakers into the same zone. But don't blame Sonos as they implement the specs as intended. 

You should be more concerned about companies selling "multi channel stereo" experience based on 2 channel (stereo) recordings. 
Userlevel 7
Badge +17
Julien,
yes, that is the only way currently - un-bond your rear speakers and create them as a separate group with the playbar to listen to music via TV then go through the whole setup process again to reverse this situation when you want normal tv sound - hardly quick and simple.

It shouldnt be hard to have a button to do the exact same thing to toggle this on & off.

nick
@Jgatie
Customers are NOT idiots when they want to use their Sonos Speakers with the TV in the very same way the speakers can be used when playing back audio through a Sonos App (Room Settings, Advanced Audio, Surround Settings => set to Full). It should not matter if the 2.0 Stereo input signal comes from a mobile device, a MP3 file on a NAS or from the TV source.

Having the same stereo sound come out of the front and rear speakers is the most unadulterated way to have an immersive surround experience for 2.0 sources. Everything else is just an electronic guessing game that randomly shoves some elements to the rear.
We will agree to disagree.
Userlevel 7
Badge +17