Answered

Homekit music automation and controls unavalable

• 8 May 2021
  • 6 replies

I’ve been using Apple HomeKit Apple Home with Sonos for about 8 months. Home automation and controls worked great!  When I arrive home, turn on all lights and stat music everywhere.  When I want everything off it did it. Recently I’ve been unable to control Sonos in the Home app.  I just realized that when selecting the speaker it says controls are unavailable.

I use an AppleTV as the home hub.  It would usually turn on (including the TV) to make these commands possible.

now nothing.

things I’ve tried

logging in and out of iCloud

in and out of keychain

removed and added the speaker

turned off 5G on my router

unplugged and plugged the speaker

this behavior is consistent with all Sonos speakers

icon

Best answer by BucksCountyPanda 13 May 2021, 03:01

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +15

Hi @BucksCountyPanda, welcome to the Sonos Community!

I’m double checking this with our engineers, however I’m quite certain that control via the Home app has never been possible with Sonos, and that the integration only allows control of Sonos via Siri, as well as setting up automations, so this is expected behaviour.

Is it possible that you were previously seeing the AirPlay controls which are available when actively playing?

If you’re having trouble getting Siri to control Sonos playback, I’d recommend reaching out to the Support Team via live chat or phone call, so they can take a look at some diagnostics and perform live troubleshooting with you.

Let us know how you get on :)

i’m 1000% certain since we had automation setup in the home app to play apple music chill.  I’m able to set up the automation but i’m unable to actually successfully test it or use it.