Raspberri PI & Output to Sonos

hi

I am new to raspberry PI. I have a sub and 3 play 1’s and plan to ad the ARC at some stage. I want better sound quality than streaming off the phone or PC so I was planning on some changes.

I like the rasperry pi so I was wanting to guy a PI hat audio streamer and play all my music through it to my sonos speakers. I was thinking of using roon too.

I also have a Synology NAS and I want to stream from that too.

Is there a way to make this happen?? I cant seem to work it out.

Thx in advance.

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

19 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +21

Easiest way is to get a Sonos device with a Line in.  That would be a Five, Port or Amp.  Then just hook up the Audio out from the Pi into the Line in.  The line in source can then be played on any speaker of  combination of speakers or all speakers at once.

Also you could use the Pi itself.

See this thread 

Easiest way is to get a Sonos device with a Line in.  That would be a Five, Port or Amp.  Then just hook up the Audio out from the Pi into the Line in.  The line in source can then be played on any speaker of  combination of speakers or all speakers at once.

thanks very much. Will this make my audio experience a lot better?? I was thinking of using this. I want it to run on wifi

https://thepihut.com/products/allo-boss-raspberry-pi-master-dac-v1-2

I couldnt find any you tube info on it.

Will I be able to add roon and all he usual music streamers also? Deezer Spotify tidal etc?

Userlevel 7
Badge +18

Hi @mmggffee 

I’m not sure I understand the point to your endeavour - other than getting Roon to play on Sonos. If that’s all you’re trying to do, fair enough.