Question

Sonos Playbar workable with PS4?

• 11 September 2016
  • 16 replies

Hi All,

I'm new to Sonos.

I never use the TV directly, hence I don't rely on the TV sound output. I would only use it through PS4 (watching Amazon Prime, play Bluray, streaming movies though Media Player)

Now the simple question is, can I connect the optical cable of PS4 to Sonos PlayBar and set the format to Dolby Digital 5.1 and expect it to work?

Many Thanks,
H

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

16 replies

Userlevel 7
What you are suggesting would be redundant even if it were possible (and I'm not saying it's not). To view your PS4 on your TV you are connecting via HDMI from PS4 to TV. If your TV has HDMI it must have an optical out that automatically converts the audio signal that is being transmitted via the HDMI connection. So just run the optical cable from the TV into the Sonos PlayBar. I have a PS4 connected in the manner I just described. I also use my PS4 to watch Bluray and Hulu. I have Amazon Prime via FireTV box. To be clear I use a HDMI switch to connect all my devices via a single HDMI port on my monitor. My Sonos setup is Playbar w/sub and Play 3 x 2 as surrounds which is effectively a Dolby Digital 5.1 surround system.

One more drawback to PS4 audio directly into a Playbar is audio control. The PS4 does not come with a media controller. I have a generic PS4 media controller made by PDP and licensed for the PS4 that has TV volume and channel control. However I haven't trained it to act as my TV remote which is what the Playbar must learn in order to have volume control from a seated position. I only use the media controller to watch movies via the PS4 and to perform required maintenance which can be faster for navigation vs the game controller. Assuming I may have mis-interpreted your question please let me know what I missed.