Review: Sonos AMP and B&O In-Ceiling speakers

• 9 February 2021
  • 2 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +7

Review: Sonos AMP and In-Ceilings for surround

As some of you may have seen from my posts during the last year, I have been building a new house. 

We recently moved in and I finally got to hook up my new home-theater setup:

2x Sonos Amps

4x B&O Celestial BOC86

1x Sonos Sub 1st. gen

65” LG GX Oled

Background 

I have been using Sonos for more than 10 years now. Except for the Sonos Arc, I have owned all of the previous home theater speakers, including the Playbar, Playbase and the Beam. 

My previous setup was a Playbar combined with 2 Play:3s as surrounds and a Sonos Sub. 

In our new house, we wanted to do all in-ceiling to create a lightweight feel in our living room, which is also why we decided on the ultra slim and no-gap wall mounted LG GX. 

I considered many different options, before finally deciding on the Amp to drive the setup. 

My concerns were:

Limited codec support (no DTS, no Atmos, no DD Plus)

No HDMI in/out, meaning that I would have to wire 1 HDMI cable from the tv to the Amps for audio and at least 1 more HDMI cable from the tv to connect video sources. The Amps and video sources are located in a separate AV-room, so that was a real concern. 

However, I only wanted four speakers. So the two Amps were basically perfect for that, enabling me to do 5.1 surround with a phantom center. I also still had some other Sonos speakers and wanted to stay within the ecosystem.

Furthermore, Airplay, Spotify Connect, Google/Alexa support and auto-detecting line-in means that they are pretty much as future proof as you can get these days. 

Finally, I needed power. The four speakers I picked out are high-end 8 inch, 3 way speakers from B&O and the recommendation was that I needed at least 100-125W at 8 ohm for each set of 2 speakers. The Sonos Amp delivers.  

————————————————————-