Playbar or Playbase?

Userlevel 1
Badge
So I'm new to the Sonos ecosystem. Last month I bought the P5Gen2 for my home office. Last week I bought 2 P1's for the living room. The next part for my home theater system will be the Playbar or Playbase. I'll wait at least another month for the Sub though.

So my question is: does the Playbase has any features (except going under a TV) that should make me buy it over a Playbar? My TV is mounted on the wall so it doesn't matter which one I get.
I'd buy the Base just because it's newer but than again, the Sonos page of the Playbar reads "thin is good for TV, but not for sound" - so will the base have worse sound than the bar?

What could you recommend?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +17
The playbase has down firing speakers with a sub woofer speaker, so they are a large diameter but small depth. No one knows what the playbase sounds like, so you will have to wait till launch and listen to both.
Userlevel 2
Badge
I find the Sonos logo on the front of the Playable unit to be irritating. Its going to be right in front of my face all the time that I am in the lounge room. There should be an option to remove the logo and replace with a blank plate.
Userlevel 1
Badge
The playbase has down firing speakers with a sub woofer speaker, so they are a large diameter but small depth. No one knows what the playbase sounds like, so you will have to wait till launch and listen to both.

Of course - but does it have any features that the Playbar does not? Support for specific formats or anything else? I can't find any description what is different except the form factor. And if that is all, I'd go for the Playbar.
Userlevel 1