Controlling volume of Playbar without TV

• 26 April 2018
  • 8 replies

Hello everyone, newbie here so be kind please.

I want to buy a Playbar to extend my current Sonos setup but have a question about adjusting the volume on the Playbar without using the TV remote. The reason being is that I would only ever use the Playbar for movie sound when using my projector not a TV.

I am planning on connecting my Amazon Fire TV directly to the Playbar via its optical output. The older version of the Fire TV that I have has a separate optical output as well as the HDMI output. The HDMI goes into a switch to distribute to either my standard TV or to the projector.

Can I program a standard IR universal remote to just control the Playbar volume?

Also, I plan on setting up a surround sound group by linking 2 x Play:3s to the Playbar; when setup like this I am presuming an IR universal remote would control the whole group?

I would be really grateful for any advice.

Many, many thanks!

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +1
You should be able to control the Playbar using either the TV remote or by using the Sonos app on a mobile device.

For the surround setting you simply set up the Playbar with the Play:3s in surround mode. Your TV remote or mobile device will control volume of all the Sonos speakers as a group.
Many thanks for the answer Mountkeen.

So, can I use my existing TV remote (which is IR) and get that programmed to the Playbar so that it can used as a volume control even when the TV is turned off?
Userlevel 2
Badge
Many thanks for the answer Mountkeen.

So, can I use my existing TV remote (which is IR) and get that programmed to the Playbar so that it can used as a volume control even when the TV is turned off?