Skip to main content
Contributor I
June 5, 2024
Answered

Ace headphones not charging

Got my ACE headphones today, they sound great but they’re not charging. Stuck at 53%. Tried different cables and power adapter that work with other devices. Feel like I’m doing something stupid. No orange or green lights to indicate charging status. Blue light comes on ok when connected via Bluetooth. Is there reboot / reset option of some description I could try???

 

Thanks

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.
JaimusAnswer
Lyricist I
June 6, 2024

I just wanted to chime in, I use the Anker Ganprime chargers (67w minimum) primarily for work and home. I first noticed the ace not charging after I had it pluged in, for a few hours and the battery depleted. I have not tried the factory reset, since there was the day one update, but I did find switching to a generic USBC 14w charging brick, that it is currently letting me charge without the reset. I'm curious to know if those that have done the reset if they are able to use their "fast" charging bricks and that it's a software fix rather than a power limit issue.

99 replies

Ken_Griffiths
June 19, 2024

I disagree. There are also many people out there experiencing product issues that don't go online. They just call support or go to the store to return instead. Or just can't be bothered to do anything at all.

The other point I want to reiterate is, Belkin and Anker are some of the most well known brands for chargers. They're not niche. Even official Apple Stores in my region stock Belkin accessories. These chargers can charge or power any USB-C devices I have ranging from laptops, earbuds, cameras, power banks, smartwatches, wireless charging docks, other headphones... But not Sonos Ace.

I think this is an issue that shouldn't be downplayed or let slide easily for such a premium product.

I’m not playing it down at all - I agree that at the very least, every modern PD certified usb-c charger should work with the Ace. I wasn’t sure if today’s update might have fixed the issue. I can also only speak as I find and that is the Apple iPad Pro 20W charger and the two PD certified chargers (100W and 36W) are all working fine with the Ace here.

I’ve obviously no idea why some Belkin, and/or Anker chargers are not working. My own thoughts there are that Sonos will likely (hopefully) go onto perhaps resolve the issue with a future update, unless of course the issues lie with particular models of some chargers etc. or it perhaps might be changes in the PD certification compliance/technical specification etc. I guess we shall have to just see what happens with any updates, or announcements.

If anything, Sonos are probably still investigating the issue as the Ace is a relatively new product and if these issues have only recently come to light, then they might currently be on a fact-finding mission to establish the extent and cause of the issue. It may also only get priority if these matters are indeed getting reported to their customer support desk or Sonos Staff and the make/model of chargers are being identified. It’s why I asked in my earlier posts for the model of the Belkin chargers and if they were PD certified, so any Sonos Staff reading this thread can gather that information, as required. 

Lyricist III
June 19, 2024

Yes, these Belkin chargers are PD 3.0 certified with PPS. Yet Sonos Ace doesn't work with them.

I hope Sonos is aware of this and is looking into solving the issue. But I don't get the feeling that they are.

Ken_Griffiths
June 19, 2024

Yes, these Belkin chargers are PD 3.0 certified with PPS. Yet Sonos Ace doesn't work with them.

I hope Sonos is aware of this and is looking into solving the issue. But I don't get the feeling that they are.

Have you not reported it to Sonos customer support and given them the make/model of your PD certified charger(s)? There’s no guarantee the Staff here who moderate the community forum have seen your posts, or passed on the info. I would certainly report it to Sonos and give them the details. In fact I’d encourage anyone with a charger issue to do this, if their charger displays the required 5V x 3A = 15W power output.

Enthusiast I
June 19, 2024

Yes, these Belkin chargers are PD 3.0 certified with PPS. Yet Sonos Ace doesn't work with them.

I hope Sonos is aware of this and is looking into solving the issue. But I don't get the feeling that they are.

Have you not reported it to Sonos customer support and given them the make/model of your PD certified charger(s)? There’s no guarantee the Staff here who moderate the community forum have seen your posts, or passed on the info. I would certainly report it to Sonos and give them the details. In fact I’d encourage anyone with a charger issue to do this, if their charger displays the required 5V x 3A = 15W power output.

Is there anything in the manual or box that says what the min or max wattage is for the Ace? I have been trying to look online, but to no avail.

Ken_Griffiths
June 19, 2024

Yes, these Belkin chargers are PD 3.0 certified with PPS. Yet Sonos Ace doesn't work with them.

I hope Sonos is aware of this and is looking into solving the issue. But I don't get the feeling that they are.

Have you not reported it to Sonos customer support and given them the make/model of your PD certified charger(s)? There’s no guarantee the Staff here who moderate the community forum have seen your posts, or passed on the info. I would certainly report it to Sonos and give them the details. In fact I’d encourage anyone with a charger issue to do this, if their charger displays the required 5V x 3A = 15W power output.

Is there anything in the manual or box that says what the min or max wattage is for the Ace? I have been trying to look online, but to no avail.

See this post and comments from Staff…

15W is mentioned by the Staff and the PD usb voltage is 5V, so it’s clear that 5V x3A (15W) is the ‘minimum’ power output needed - I’d personally expect any charger with that power output to work with the Ace. It’s better though if the charger is PD certified. I’m surprised that some Belkin & Anker chargers are not working if they are certified and have that power output.

Lyricist III
June 29, 2024

Yes, these Belkin chargers are PD 3.0 certified with PPS. Yet Sonos Ace doesn't work with them.

I hope Sonos is aware of this and is looking into solving the issue. But I don't get the feeling that they are.

Have you not reported it to Sonos customer support and given them the make/model of your PD certified charger(s)? There’s no guarantee the Staff here who moderate the community forum have seen your posts, or passed on the info. I would certainly report it to Sonos and give them the details. In fact I’d encourage anyone with a charger issue to do this, if their charger displays the required 5V x 3A = 15W power output.

Is there anything in the manual or box that says what the min or max wattage is for the Ace? I have been trying to look online, but to no avail.

See this post and comments from Staff…

15W is mentioned by the Staff and the PD usb voltage is 5V, so it’s clear that 5V x3A (15W) is the ‘minimum’ power output needed - I’d personally expect any charger with that power output to work with the Ace. It’s better though if the charger is PD certified. I’m surprised that some Belkin & Anker chargers are not working if they are certified and have that power output.

That's definitely 100% inaccurate information. Change that from 'minimum' to 'maximum'. From my real life experiments with extensive variations of chargers, Ace cannot accept wattage higher than 18W. Thus I also strongly believe that Ace isn't PD compliant. Big thumbs down for Sonos.

Ken_Griffiths
June 29, 2024

That's definitely 100% inaccurate information. Change that from 'minimum' to 'maximum'. From my real life experiments with extensive variations of chargers, Ace cannot accept wattage higher than 18W. Thus I also strongly believe that Ace isn't PD compliant. Big thumbs down for Sonos.

I’m only repeating what was mentioned by the Staff in their post, that link is in my earlier message  - and the Ace does not have to accept every voltage that a PD charger supplies - it only has to be able to accept a charge from a PD certified charger and I can say that the Ace works with the PD chargers I have here. I use E-Marker chipped cables too, to ensure correct power delivery and the Ace has been charging fine here. 

For those that have PD certified chargers that are not working with their Ace, if not done so already, then I’d let Sonos Customer Services know about the issue and provide them with the make/model of the charger and perhaps a screenshot of its power-output too that’s printed on the charger, so that the matter can be investigated further, perhaps. Here is the link to contact Sonos CS:

https://support.sonos.com/s/contact

edit: All PD certified chargers should output 15W - (5V x 3A) as I’m pretty sure that is part of the current (no pun intended) PD certification, that’s as far as I can gather …and so they should work to charge the Ace. I’ve no idea why some ‘certified’ chargers are not working.🤷‍♂️

Lyricist III
June 29, 2024

And I'm only stating facts. Whether you were repeating some information from the Staff or not. Also, just because it came from the Staff, doesn't make it true. I (and so many other people) have proven and demonstrated that that information is false.

I have contacted support separately. But I'm also going to keep sharing real life experiences here and other channels on the internet to inform others.

Ken_Griffiths
June 29, 2024

And I'm only stating facts. Whether you were repeating some information from the Staff or not. Also, just because it came from the Staff, doesn't make it true. I (and so many other people) have proven and demonstrated that that information is false.

I have contacted support separately. But I'm also going to keep sharing real life experiences here and other channels on the internet to inform others.

Then perhaps remain unbiased and include in your posts that some PD certified chargers do work - as that’s the truth of the matter too.

Lyricist III
June 29, 2024

And I'm only stating facts. Whether you were repeating some information from the Staff or not. Also, just because it came from the Staff, doesn't make it true. I (and so many other people) have proven and demonstrated that that information is false.

I have contacted support separately. But I'm also going to keep sharing real life experiences here and other channels on the internet to inform others.

Then perhaps remain unbiased and include in your posts that some PD certified chargers do work - as that’s the truth of the matter too.

I'm not sure if you're joking or lacking something. I have included in my very first post on this thread and a couple of followup posts about chargers that DO work.

You're the one looking like you have a weird bias here.