Answered

My Sonos has been hacked - Pewdiepie

• 6 December 2018
  • 21 replies

I'm not a techie person and my Sonos has been hacked - playing someone else music with a scrolling message telling me to subscribe to Pewpiedie and to secure my system: any help???
icon

Best answer by Ryan S 6 December 2018, 22:50

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

21 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +26
Hi jdcseattle,

Would you mind submitting a diagnostic from your system so we can get a closer look? Can you please follow the directions here and let us know the number that comes up? It's possible that your players aren't behind a router or are accessible to the internet due to a misconfiguration or unusual setup.
Done. #1872225318. Thanks.
I just experienced the same Pewdiepie hack in Seattle this morning. Diagnostics submitted #134042618.
Userlevel 7
Badge +26
Thanks jdcseattle, it looks like your home network is misconfigured, putting all of your devices public. To get this resolved quickest, we'd be happy to work with you over the phone. I'll be sending you a private message in a moment to follow up. Let's continue there.
Userlevel 7
Badge +26
@hunterpollitt, your network is also similarly misconfigured. I'll be sending you a private message to follow up as well.
Userlevel 7
Badge +26
In case anyone finds this thread with a search, we've published an announcement on the topic here. This is the result of a prank, made possible by misconfigured networks.