Skip to main content
Sonos Employee
Sep 2, 2014 12:52 PM UTC

Clear tracks from queue after playing them

A SONOS user expressed his desire in a feature where the tracks are being cleared from the queue after they have been played.

Let us know if you would like to see this as well.
    This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

    34 replies

    GreenI
    Avid Contributor I
    Feb 10, 2016 11:50 AM UTC
    Great as an option
    Translate
    Chris
    Lead Maestro
    Feb 10, 2016 12:14 PM UTC
    If ever do I would want it to be an option in settings. I do not want songs deleting from the queue. A lot of times I add songs to the queue randomly through the night based on what people ask to play. At the end of the night I save the playlist to be able to bring back up and remember songs played.
    Translate
    Respect the Queue (2)Move (3)Beam (1) Era100 (2)ARC (1)SonosOne (1)Playbar (4)Play5 (4)Play1 (3)Play3 (1)Port (2)Connect (1) Roam (2) Ace (1)Connect:Amp (4)Sonos Amp (1)Sub + (9) Echo + Smartthings; (2)Play)
    Contributor I
    Apr 24, 2016 2:41 PM UTC
    DEFINITELY. Please add this as an option (as long as you can turn it off, of course!

    I admit I hadn't thought of using "Replace Queue" as an option but I'd still like this added.
    Translate
    Prodigy II
    Apr 24, 2016 9:22 PM UTC
    DEFINITELY. Please add this as an option (as long as you can turn it off, of course!

    I admit I hadn't thought of using "Replace Queue" as an option but I'd still like this added.


    You don't really know if you want this option at all as you haven't tried the obvious solution. If you really want the option, so you can switch it off, how often would you actually use it and why?
    Translate
    Prodigy I
    Apr 25, 2016 11:09 AM UTC
    Another example of a request which would probably only serve to add 'more' options onto an interface that doesn't need any more.

    You add stuff to the queue and then it plays. When its finished, you can already:-

    Restart the existing queue at any point
    Add new content and carry on from there
    You can CLEAR the queue and start afresh
    You can add new content and REPLACE the queue in one go.

    Doesn't this give you enough options, including exactly what you're after?
    Translate
    Contributor I
    Apr 25, 2016 5:42 PM UTC
    Yes. It wold be very useful
    Translate
    Prodigy I
    Apr 26, 2016 7:07 AM UTC
    Yes. It wold be very useful

    Simon-c

    With all the available options mentioned in the post prior to yours, can you please explain why 'It would be very useful'
    Translate
    Legnum Nick
    Prodigy III
    Apr 26, 2016 7:26 AM UTC
    The advantage is that it clears the played tracks whilst still playing. If you use the "Replace Queue" command then what is currently playing stops at that point and anything else left on the playlist gets dumped. If you keep adding tracks to the queue so that the music never stops then you can't use the Replace command without upsetting the listening. I can understand why this feature would be useful to some.

    Having said all that, I don't think I would ever use it and certainly wouldn't want it imposed, it would need to be a selectable feature.
    Translate
    Prodigy I
    Apr 26, 2016 9:47 AM UTC
    I agree with most of the recent comments. I have never felt any need for this feature, doubt I would ever use it, and if it is added it must be a switchable option (and preferably not the default). The current queue functionality works fine in my opinion.
    Translate
    Contributor I
    Apr 26, 2016 1:54 PM UTC
    The feature serves as a way of keeping up with the queue. As mentioned above, you can just keep adding tracks to the list, and it is easier to keep track of what you have heard. At the same time the queue list becomes easier to manage as the tracks you have listened to disappear from the list.
    Translate