Skip to main content
Sonos Employee
Sep 2, 2014 12:52 PM UTC

Clear tracks from queue after playing them

A SONOS user expressed his desire in a feature where the tracks are being cleared from the queue after they have been played.

Let us know if you would like to see this as well.
    This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

    34 replies

    Lyricist I
    May 29, 2015 2:10 PM UTC
    We use Sonos in our office and have large playlist we want to add to the quque, it would be AMAZING to have the tracks delete from the queue after playing as it keeps it fresh. 

    This is a must have.
    Translate
    Lyricist II
    Sep 10, 2015 4:19 PM UTC
    It is baffling that his is not a option/default feature of the Play Now/Play Next (maybe "Play Once") ... definitely needed both at system level and a room/group option.
    Translate
    Trending Lyricist I
    Nov 15, 2015 5:09 PM UTC
    I have just purchased a sonos system of play 1's I have not problems with the sound which is really good. However, if I play a whole album the tracks are still there which is boring. Therefore, yes I want to be able to add albums are track to the playing queue and then when they have played they are deleted.

    No the million dollar question WHEN???

    I should add that I have purchased the play 1's as a try out of the system. This could be a deal breaker for the installation in my second home
    Translate
    ratty
    Nov 15, 2015 5:17 PM UTC
    This could be a deal breaker for the installation in my second home
    You do realise that the Replace Queue option effectively does what you want? It clears the queue prior to loading the next selection (album, track, etc).
    Translate
    Trending Lyricist I
    Nov 15, 2015 5:20 PM UTC
    No I did not thank you I have only had my system 4 days so a very new bi. I will try this out I would still like it to automatically delete as it does in iTunes.

    Thanks again.
    Translate
    MikeV
    Nov 16, 2015 1:28 PM UTC
    Only if this is something that can be turned off. I'll frequently combine playlists or build a queue over time, and like to play it multiple times without having to save it. I don't always want my queue to empty as I play through it.

    Also, if implemented, make sure that this functionality is disabled if the "Repeat All" option is enabled too, otherwise you won't be repeating anything since the queue will have cleared itself! And no, Repeat All should not be THE way to keep the queue from clearing itself. I might only want to listen to the queue once and still retain its contents.
    Translate
    The S in IOT stands for Security.
    buzz
    Grand Maestro
    Nov 17, 2015 8:20 AM UTC
    It's personal. This is not a feature that I would enjoy or use. I'm not a fan of the iTunes user interface. To me the iTunes interface is illogical and hard to use.
    Translate
    Lyricist I
    Feb 8, 2016 8:34 PM UTC
    Yes . Very frustrating to have to go back to the queue and skip a track which played earlier.
    Translate
    Lyricist I
    Feb 9, 2016 1:38 AM UTC
    DO IT! Just make it a settings option, like "Clear items from the queue as they finish playing"
    Translate
    Feb 9, 2016 1:43 AM UTC
    When the replace option is available, I don't see the value in this; and if this isn't given as just an option, I see downsides I would hate to have to deal with.
    Translate