Answered

I have an Apple Music Subscription with local files downloaded. Can I add them to My Library in Sonos?

• 28 March 2024
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge +4

I’ve had my Sonos system working ok until recently.  Underwent an ISP change that threw some things for a loop.

Where I’m at now is….I have an Apple Music Subscription.  What I’d like to be able to do is download one of my Favorites playlist to the local hard drive.  Then, add that folder or playlist to My Library in Sonos so I don’t have to rely on streaming as much but rather play these local files that Apple lets me use for offline use.  

Is this possible with Sonos/Apple?  I’ve been trying my best to add it and it does not work.  It will however recognize files I uploaded to Apple Music (so I guess they look at them as mine), but I can’t get the other local downloaded files to appear.  

Any way to do what I’m thinking?  Thank you!

icon

Best answer by Airgetlam 29 March 2024, 03:26

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +15

@TheRamblinMan

I‘m sure relating to DRM that isn’t possible. „Download“ of Apple Music content just means „offline use“ with Apple Music app. 
You can‘t use the files on another system. 
If you have some paid content you bought from Apple, of course you can use it like any other DRM free file. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +22

Go simple to start with, create a music directory and put a few simple music files in it. A ripped (to 16 / 44.1 FLAC is good) CD is plenty to start with.

Share that directory with your Sonos system. Index it and try playing from it.

With the basic in place and working you can add and reindex to see what happens with your other music.

https://support.sonos.com/en-us/article/supported-audio-formats-for-sonos-music-library

Userlevel 2
Badge +4

Go simple to start with, create a music directory and put a few simple music files in it. A ripped (to 16 / 44.1 FLAC is good) CD is plenty to start with.