Skip to main content
Answered

App update broke the system- Tech supported admitted the features are broken

After 2 hour wait finally got tech support.  The Support Rep was very unclear and confused as if the things broken, were coming across as new bug reports. Sonos product team decided they will use customers for bug testing rather than releasing their own tested product.  I have 5 Play 1s, 1 Play 3, 1 Play 5, 1 Move2, 1 bridge, 1 SUB and 1 AMP.  The Play 5 and 2 Play 1’s are used with the AMP and SUB for surround sound system.  Here are my major issues. 

1. App update broke EVERYTHING.  Had to do a complete reset and reinstall. After I got over the anger, was able to add all the speakers bad.  
  2. iOS- trying to GROUP the AMP with the PLAY 5 and 2 PLAY 1s to do surround with TV DOES NOT work.  But the MAC app allows that, so i’m able to watch TV but i have to use MAC to control everything. iOS app is useless. I tested Android app with android phone, and that app works fine.  Also, when i choose “TV” input while trying to group the AMP with any speaker, the app doesn’t allow that.  But i can choose TV input using MAC app.  So basically iOS is screwed up.  That product person couldn’t make the deadlines before release. Tech support rep tried fixing and then finally admitted it’s a problem.
  3. I had 2 Play 1s added as “surround speakers” to the AMP before the App and system broke. Now, i have to group them, before they were automatically part of the AMP surround speakers. I tried to redo this configuration by “removing surround speakers” from AMP and then re-add them, but the “remove surround speaker” feature doesn’t work- again, tech support said they know this feature is missing and wait for next release.  What a terrible product release.