Skip to main content

I’m new to having Sonos and am setting up my TV stereo after I got a bass box from my dad, which he doesn’t use anymore. Got two One SL and am considering which soundbar to get.

However, I’m already frustrated by the software interface, which I simply find lacking and being non intuitive compared to the quality of the sound. Maybe it is because I am generally not using streaming services and have connected a library with the music from my laptop? Help is of course appreciated if there are solutions to these issues:

1. The app on the phone somehow wants to only play one or two songs at a time. No explanation why or any obvious reason why it does this.
  2. Took ages to add YouTube to the list of services and have no way of searching for music and playing it. Personally I don’t really use YouTube, but when people come by and want to play something they particularly like, it’s a little embarrassing having to get my old portable Bose speakers, simply because we’re unable to play anything new from YouTube on the Sonos speakers.
  3. Had expected a more defined equalizer for this kind of sound, but seems that is not the case, right?   
  4. Album view of the Sonos Library does not work for me at all. Instead of being one album with two ‘CD’s’ the system lists them as 30 Albums, one for each song. Can only use the folder view and that shows no art work.  
  1. Sounds like you may have a case of either wifi interference, or potentially a duplicate IP address issue. Review the FAQ I’ve linked and apply any potential fixes there. I’d be tempted, in the lesser chance of the latter issue, to do a simple network refresh, too. Unplug all Sonos devices from power. While they are unplugged, reboot your router. Once the router comes back up, plug back in your Sonos devices.
  2. Could certainly be a result of the issues caused by 1.