Answered

Locking Sonos for a party

• 28 October 2016
  • 11 replies

I know this is a frequently asked question, so I'd just like to know if Sonos actually listen to their customers?

I work in the music industry and have personally experienced the battles that go on with the company Sonos system. Staff turn down music, insert their tracks into a playlist to disrupt an album playback and sometimes disconnect speakers from a party. It's total chaos and frustrating as we need to have the flexibility of having the Sonos on our current network, so can't segment the Sonos system via WiFi to restrict it that way.

What we'd ideally like is to have some form of advanced management feature on the Sonos to switch between allowing individual accounts or everyone. I really can't see how difficult it would be to code this kind of restriction, either by MAC address or a "superuser" password on each connected controller if the setting is enabled.

It's been years now and it doesn't appear that Sonos are doing anything about "Song wars" at a party. I've even heard that families with kids often have to deal with similar clashes so this request isn't just for the occasional party situation or workplace setup.

Anyway, to recap: Do Sonos pay any attention to requests by the public??
icon

Best answer by Ryan S 28 October 2016, 19:19

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

11 replies

Anyway, to recap: Do Sonos pay any attention to requests by the public??
Hi. Yes they do. Scores of feature requests have been implemented. Lots more have not been implemented, presumably because Sonos think they aren't the best use of scarce development resource. I doubt they always get this right, because no company is perfect.