Skip to main content

1 sub for multiple 'rooms'

• 26 December 2017
  • 1 reply

Hi All, Newbie here.

I'm just thinking out loud so that maybe someone will say " you can do that already" or perhaps Sonos can consider a suggestion.

I've searched around, and it looks like we can't connect 1 sub into multiple 'rooms'.

Naturally the suggestion is that if you are playing music into multiple rooms simultaneously then the sub will be confused and this would lead to a less than ideal outcome. Fair call.

This is my setup:

2 Logical rooms.

Room1: TV/Movies = Playbase + 2x Play 1 + Sub

Room 2: Stereo Music = 2x Play 5(gen2)

They are all in the same physical room though. The play 5 are next to my TV in my lounge room.

First things first, the quality is impressive.

Movies are great, imaging is good, and the sub fantastic. Play 1's make a perfect surround speaker for my environment.

Stereo is amazing. The play 5's are a terrific stereo pair, and as many have mentioned, they hold their own in the bass department. However, I'm looking for a bit more omnidirectional bass that the sub would give, and I think the Play 5's are slightly light on bass at lower volumes (They are very good in higher volumes though)

I'd like to leverage the sub that I have already invested in, and that's in the same physical room, for stereo listening.

So I had two thoughts:

1. Allow the selection of a Sub "Primary Source"

For me that would be the TV. I watch that more often that I listen to stereo music.

The Sub can pair with room 1 and also pair with room 2.

TV with Sub, OR Stereo with Sub.

However, if trying to listen to 2 sources (which I don't, but others might try), then the primary source would have the sub, the other room would not.

2. Create a 'room' with only a sub in it, then I can group together as I please (I don't think you can add just a sub as a 'room' though right - needs other speakers in it)