Question

Connecting Sonos Amp to 4 speakers- will it reduce quality of sound?

• 27 November 2016
  • 0 replies

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Sonos. I just purchased a Sonos Connect music streaming device yesterday and connected it to my 28 year old Sony GX60ES Receiver and I am thrilled with being able to stream all my music from my iPhone! It works extremely well!

However, I have a few questions about my speaker set up with 4 speakers and whether or not I should keep the Sony GX60ES receiver or switch to a Sonos Connect AMP.

Below are the details:

I just purchased 2 Bowers and Wilkins ceiling speakers to put into the kitchen ceiling. Here are the specs for the speakers:

Bowers & Wilkins - CCM 683 8" 2-Way In-Ceiling Speakers (Pair)
RMS Power 130 Watts
impedance8 ohms
Peak Power Handling130 watts
Minimum Frequency Response35 hertz
Maximum Frequency Response50 kilohertz
Sensitivity88 decibels

My plan is to have these 2 ceiling speakers hard wired to my 28 year old Sony GX60ES Receiver that has power output 100 watts per channel into 8 ohms and frequency response 5-50 hz, (speaker load impedance 4-16 ohms).

I also have 2 small bookshelf Polk speakers (8 ohms) that I plan to hard wire to the Sony GX60ES Receiver, which will give me a total of 4 speakers hard wired to the Sony GX60ES Receiver, all connected to the Sonos Connect music streaming device.