Question

BOOST Mode - Can you connect more then one wired Sonos device?

• 24 April 2017
  • 6 replies

I started working for a home theater / home automation installation company a few months ago and we install a lot of Sonos. Sonos is a pretty solid product but, we still run into some strange network issues every once in a while. I was originally told that Sonos creates it's own wireless mesh that it uses to communicate from device to device. Now my background is in networking and I am from the school of thought that anytime you can hard wire a device instead of using WiFi you do it, to reserve the limited airspace for your mobile devices, that are not practical to have hard wired. The standard practice when setting up these sonos systems has been to usually have all of the Sonos Connects and or Connect Amps all centrally located in a network rack and distribute speaker wire to each room, usually using a set of in-wall or in-ceiling speakers. Now having several Sonos all wired to the network as well as creating their own wireless network is concerning due to the potential for a switch loop. I also was told that Sonos has it's own version of Spanning-tree protocol which in theory should prevent a switch loop, however, has been known to wreak havoc on some networks.
So I have been doing my own research to find out why we occasionally experience strange anomalies on the network and based on the information I have seen on the difference between a Standard Setup and a Boost setup it almost seems like it is best to have one and only one Sonos device connected via a wired connection. If you connect several Sonos via wired do they all then attempt to become the Booster, and create their own wireless Broadcast?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

6 replies