With 2xEra300 as surround, should I get Arc or Beam Gen2?

• 25 July 2023
  • 4 replies

Hi Guys, could you share with me your opinions please. :)

I am new to Sonos system and never own any Sonos product before.

With the main aim of watching Atmos movies, I have recently tested two similar setups in the shop, with only difference being soundbar itself.

1. Arc+ Sub Mini + 2xEra300 as surround.

2. Beam Gen 2 + Sub Mini + 2xEra300 as surround.

I found Atmos movie was most amazing to me when two Era300s are involved, it's really spacious. However, I have also noticed that 2xEra300 would somehow "in a good way outshine but not overwhelm" the soundbar completely, both Arc and Beam Gen2, during my testing session.

I understand that a typical HT system is kind of a front focused setup, with a-much-more-powerful soundbar in front of you, and "two-relatively-weaker/smaller" surround speaker at the back, eg Samsung Q990, Bose 900 and JBL bar etc. But Era300s as surround seems completely overthrown this principle, making Front/RL/RR equally weighted. In fact, I couldn't tell the difference between arc and Beam gen2, they seems similar in performance while Era300s are around. I got an impression that soundbar choice appears insignificant in such configuration.

I am not sure if this is due to the setting in which Era300s volume being made louder than the soundbar in the Sonos app, or is it just Era300 being too powerful and advanced, I didn't get a chance to see the exact settings.

I am not trying to identify which soundbar is absolutely superior, arc or beam gen2, in terms of its solo performance, but rather if their difference are still a significant factor to consider with the presence of era300s as surround.

Btw, I have a very tiny space, could this also be the reason why I can't tell the difference between Arc and Beam Gen2?

• The room is 8ft wide x13 ft deep (2.5x4m).

• Distance between me and soundbar is 6ft (2m), with era300s just right behind me.