Answered

Will a Sonos One Sytem Do What I want .

Badge +4

My main system is in my living room and is not a multi room system and I now want a multi room system for 3 rooms in the rest of the house. I am thinking of buying three One SL’s but need to understand  if they will do all I want. 

I have a subscription to Qobuz and a sizeable collection of flac tracks on my PC and want to be able to access these.

I also want to be able to play podcasts from my IPad and also listen to radio stations. 

I want to create playlists which can be accessed by any speaker

I want to be able to play something different through each speaker at the same time.  

Will 3 One SL’s be able to do this or will I need to buy a Port as well

icon

Best answer by John B 27 August 2022, 19:20

View original

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

17 replies

You can do everything you want. You don't need a Port.  For podcasts, Airplay might be the best option.

If you have a mesh WiFi  network you would do best to wire one Sonos device to your network. If it isn't convenient to wire one of the speakers you would need a Sonos Boost. 

Even if you don't want to use one of the 'snooping' voice command systems like Alexa, you may find Sonos Voice Control useful. This would need Ones rather than One SLs.

Is your main system SONOS? If not, do you want to integrate this system with the SONOS players? PORT would allow a non SONOS system to become a SONOS ‘Room’. PORT will be added to the main system as if it is a cassette deck or CD player.

You can also ‘Group’ SONOS Rooms to play the same music.

Badge +4

You can do everything you want. You don't need a Port.  For podcasts, Airplay might be the beat option.