Question

TV + ceiling speakers + sonos amp/beam

• 23 October 2019
  • 2 replies

I am a newbie with limited understanding of connecting a sound system looking for advice. Recently moved into a house with four wired ceiling speakers that now have wires hanging out of my wall above my mounted tv not connected to anything. The previous owner took the rest of his sound system (amp, etc). I’m looking to add a Sonos surround system connected to my tv while utilizing the existing ceiling speakers.

1. Can the new Sonos Amp connect via HDMI to my tv and to the 4 ceiling speakers? The sound coming from the tv alone is weak for the room it’s in but probably will be enough once I connect the ceiling speakers. Is this a waste and would I get the same sound using a less expensive amp? 

2. How would a Sonos Beam fit into the connections and would it be necessary?

1. I would like the option of upgrading in the future which is why I’m drawn to Sonos. I use Alexa and Pandora and like the idea of having the option of adding wireless speakers to other rooms or even in the backyard one day. Would I need additional equipment other than the speakers in the future if I want to do this?

This topic has been closed for further comments. You can use the search bar to find a similar topic, or create a new one by clicking Create Topic at the top of the page.

2 replies

The Amp will connect to your TV by HDMI-ARC, which is a slightly different connection than regular HDMI.    Your TV needs to have an HDMI-ARC port in order to use it, or an optical output to use with the Sonos adapter.  There’s more to it than that, and it’s worth looking into deeper before making a purchase, but essentially, the answer is yes.